What is FIK

 Outline of International Kendo Federation (FIK)

 The establishment of FIK

 FIK was established in 1970.

 FIK is composed of National Kendo Federations, each of which exclusively represents the nation/region in Kendo.  At the time of establishment, 17 countries/regions were affiliated with FIK.  As of May 2012, 52 countries/regions are FIK affiliates. 

 FIK is a non-political and friendly organization and its purpose is to propagate and develop Kendo, Iaido and Jodo internationally and to foster the mutual trust and friendship among the affiliates.

 The headquarters of FIK is located in the office of All Japan Kendo Federation in Tokyo, Japan.

 Major Activities of FIK

(1)   To provide various assistance in order to promote the organization of the National Kendo Federation in each nation.

(2)   To hold and assist seminars and workshops.

(3)   To establish the rules for international matches.

(4)   To provide standards (guidelines) for the Dan/Kyu examinations.

(5)   To organize World Kendo Championships.

(6)   To exchange information on techniques, equipment, etc.

(7)   To undertake other activities necessary for achievement of the purposes set forth in the preceding articles.

FIK Officials@i2012-2015)

Approved at the FIK Board of Directors Meeting and GA on May 24 , 2012 in Novara.

President: Yoshimitsu Takeyasu (Japan)

Vice President: Masami Matsunaga (Japan, new)

Vice President: Arthur Ichiro Murakami (USA, new)

Vice President: Seung-Ryong Ji (Korea, new)      

Vice PresidentAlain Ducarme (Belgium)

Secretary General: Yukio Sato (,Japan)

Assitant Secretary General: Arinobu Kurose (Japan)

AuditorZsolt Vadadi (Hungary)

Auditor: Graham Sayar (New Zealand, new)

Directors (Japan) : Masayuki Miyasaka, Takeshi Masago, Shuji Fukumoto, Masao Toshima

Council Nations and Directors (Asian Zone)

Korea: Seung- Ho Shin   --from June 18, 2013

Chinese Taipei (Taiwan): Yu Po(Huo) Huang

Council Nations and Directors (American Zone)

Canada : Hirokazu Okusa

Brazil: Elizabeth Akemi Kodoto

Hawaii: Kathleen Nekomoto

Council Nations and Directors (European Zone)

Great Itary: Gianfranko Moretti

Germany: Detlf Viebranz

FranceJean-Pierre Soulas